Sep 26
26th LUNA AWARDS—LOOKING BACK AND FORWARD by Jose N. Carreon  |  Posted in Articles  |  on Fri, Sep 26, 2008

Six winners in last year’s silver anniversary edition of the Film Academy’s Luna Awards are literally back to defend their trophies.

The votes had been cast and the winners will be announced during the awards night on November 5 (hopefully the final date), according to the Manio Events, this year’s producer of the Luna Awards ceremonies.

From the final list of nominees, it is certain that there will be first-time winners in the screenplay and cinematography categories, and possibly in the best actor, supporting actress, production design and musical scoring categories where only one nominee each had won previously.

Star Cinema which won best picture (with Kasal, Kasali, Kasalo) last year has a sixty percent chance to garner the same plum inasmuch as it has three films nominated for best picture—A Love Story, One More Chance and Kasal’s sequel Sakal, Sakali, Saklolo.

In the first quarter century of the Luna Awards (that’s a solid 25 consecutive-year period), the ABS-CBN film production outfit had actually won four times and it is tied with Regal Entertainment Inc. with four best picture trophies for the following—Hangga’t May Hininga (1996), Bata, Bata…Paano ka Ginawa? (1998), Tanging Yaman (2000) and last Year’s Kasal. Viva Films, with 10 best picture Lunas, is the winningest film producer.

In the director’s category, last year’s winner Joey Javier Reyes is again vying for the honors with his Kasal’s sequel, Sakal. Interestingly, the winners for best director from 2003 to 2006 are all nominated this year. They are four-time winner Joel Lamangan—2004 for Aishite Imasu 1941 and 2005 for Blue Moon—and Maryo J. delos Reyes, winner in 2003 for Magnifico. The three are pitted against National Artist for Film Eddie Romero and newcomer TV reporter-turned-director Cesar Apolinario.

Looking back through the first 25 years, there had been five multi- or two-time winners in the best director category. Joel tops the list with four. Eddie Garcia won three times. Two-time winners were the late National Artist for Film Lino Brocka, Augusto Salvador and Elwood Perez.

2006 best actor John Lloyd Cruz returns with One More Chance, another well-crafted young romance film. He is the only previous winner in this year’s list of nominees which also include Paolo Contis, Aga Muhlach, Piolo Pascual (a best supporting actor winner in 2002) and Joel Torre.

The multi- or two-time winners in the best actor category for the first 25 years of the Luna Awards are surprisingly led by action stars with Philip Salvador claiming seven trophies, the late king of Philippine movies FPJ with three. Christopher de Leon also with three and the late Daboy Fernandez with two.

Like in the best actor category, the best actress category includes the nomination of last year’s winner Judy Ann Santos who will try to depend her trophy against three rivals—Maricel Soriano (with two nominations) who won in 1997 for Nasaan ang Puso and in 2003 with Filipinas, Regine Velasquez and Bea Alonzo. The last two nominees are possible first-time winner.

In the list of previous best actress winners, it is a dead heat between Vilma Santos and Nora Aunor, with four trophies each. Vilma won in the first Luna Awards in 1982 (Relasyon) and repeated in 1993 (Dolzura Cortez Story), 1998 (Bata, Bata…Paano Ka Ginawa?) and 2002 (Dekada ’70). Guy won in 1989 (Bilangin Mo ang Bituin sa Langit), 1990 (Andrea, Paano Ba ang Maging Isang Ina?), 1991 (Totoong Buhay ni Pacita M) and (The Flor Contemplacion Story).

There are four other actresses who won more than once. Lorna Tolentino won three times and the two-time winners, aside from Maria, are Sharon Cuneta and Zsa-Zsa Padilla.

The best supporting actress of 2006, Gina Pareno, is nominated again this year and will fight it out with three nominees who may yet turn out to be a first-time winner. They are Angelica Panganiban, Irma Adlawan and Eugene Domingo, who was nominated for two films.

Two actresses won the best supporting actress trophy three times each—Gina Alajar and the late Nida Blanca. Two-time winners include Amy Austria, Caridad Sanchez and Jacklyn Jose.

The sixth and last 25th Luna Awards winner who is back to depend his turf is Vito Cajili who faces two-time winners Jess Navarro (1999 and 2000) and Marya Ignacio (2004 and 2005). But Cajili had also won twice—in 2006 for Sakal and in 2003 for Malikmata.

Aside from the above-mentioned two-time editing winners, there are four other editors who are holders of more than one best editing trophies. Three of them are now full-time directors—Edgardo ‘Boy’ Vinarao (6-time winner), Augusto Salvador (6-time winner) and Ike Jarlego Jr. (4-time winner). Editor Renato de Leon won twice.

(Continued next week)

Your FEEDBACK can also be posted at