Sep 19
LUNA AWARDS VOTERS CAST BALLOTS by fapweb  |  Posted in Articles  |  on Fri, Sep 19, 2008

On the last day of screening and after viewing a total of 20 films which got nominations for the 13 categories of the 26th Luna Awards, voters finally cast their ballots at 3 p.m. on Friday, September 19, at the University of the Philippines Film Center theater.

The FAP voters ready for the job. At the center with the walking cane is Josefino Cenizal, president of the Musical Scorers

A total of 97 voters cast their ballots after the screening of the last two films— Enteng Kabisote 4 of OctoArts and Mzet Films and Ouija of Star Cinema.

Joel Apuyan, president of ADPM casting his ballot

All voters from the various guilds of the Film Academy voted in all categories, unlike the citers and nominators who only decided on their peers, meaning directors cited and nominated directors, etc.

The full list of voters is as follows:

Directors—Jose ‘Kaka’ Balagtas, Leonardo Belen, Rudy Dominguez, Leonardo Garcia, Baldo Marro, Eddie Mayo, Baby Navoa, Cloyd Robinson, Hernan Robles, Neal ‘Buboy’ Tan, Boy San Agustin and Freddie Sarrol.

Performers—Archi Adamos, Gina Alajar, Cris Daluz, Charlie Davao, Vic Felipe, Rene Romero, Caridad Sanchez, Rusty Santos and Bart Vibar.

Cinematographers—Arnold Alvaro, Al Anao, Romulo Araojo, Roger Baruelo, Eduardo Cabrales, Leodegario Dalawis, Renato de Vera, Rey de Vera, Roger Estrada, Rey de Leon, Sergio Lobo, Ramon Marcelino, Oscar Querijero, Marcos Rasca and Isagani Sioson.

Scriptwriters—Rick Acasio, Andy Beltran, Angelica Bulay-Morales, Jose Datiles, Franco Deocareza, Lita Duguran, Nita Eden So, Conrado Leonardo, Pablo Libiran, Felix Magat, Arnold Molina, Norma Molina, Rei Nicandro, Manny Rodriguez, Alex Socorro, Enrico Villa and Gladys Villanueva.

Production Designers—Vic Dabao, Waldo Masconi, Ianne Oandasan, John Portugal, Judy Lou de Pio and Vic Villavicencio.

Editors—Cornelio Crisostomo, Danilo Gloria, Mario Mendoza, Ever Ramos, Patnubay Ramos, Cielito Santillan, Rudy Tabotabo, Edmund Tugbo and Arcadio Vinarao.

Musical Scorers—Josefino Cenizal, Jaypee Garlan, Jun Garlan, Joseph Lansang, Emil Losenada, Pablo Vergara and Domingo Zafe.

Sound Technicians—Tony Benavidez, Nolet Clemente, Gregorio Ella and Albert Rima.

Assistant Directors/Production Managers—Robert Abihay, Joel Apuyan, Evelyn Baruelo, Bobby Benitez, Benjie Corpuz, Oscar Hibanada, Sammy Interno, Jose Jardi, Dante Kabigting, Alexander Montenegro, Romulo Opulencia, Josie Tagle and Roger Velilla.

OSFILM—Maricel Adlawan, Arvin Bustos, Zahn Garduce and Butch Nolasco.

The long queue for the ballots

The screening started two Mondays ago, Sept. 8, when voters reviewed The Promise (Regal Entertainment, Inc. & GMA Films), which was nominated for cinematography (Marissa Floirendo) and sound (Ditoy Aguila & Junel Valencia); and Faces of Love (Eddie Romero Foundation), nominated for picture, direction (Eddie Romero), screenplay (Eddie Romero & Rica Arevalo) and music (Jobin Ballesteros).

Screened on Tuesday, Sept. 9, were Silip (Seiko Films) for direction (Joel Lamangan) and editing (Jess Navarro); and Ataul for Rent (Artiste Entertainment Works Intl., Inc.) for actor (Joel Torre), supporting actor (Ronnie Lazaro) and supporting actress(Irma Adlawan).

Screened on Wednesday, Sept. 10, were Banal (ComGuild Productions, Inc.) for picture, direction (Cesar Apolinario), actor (Paolo Contis) and supporting actor (Pen Medina); and Batanes (Ignite Media, Inc./GMA Films) for cinematography (Ramoncito Redoble) and production design (Cyrus Khan).

Screened on Thursday, Sept. 11, were Haw-Ang…After the Harvest (Sizzling Gambas Productions, Inc.) for screenplay (Murphy Redd & Bong Ramos) and production design (Blanca Dadivas & Felisberto Besina); and Ang Lalaki sa Parola (Viva Films) for production design (Ma. Asuncion Torres & Anna Carmela Manda).

Screened on Saturday, Sept.13, were Batad: Sa Paang Palay (Philippine Company of Performing Arts) for best screenplay (Vic Acedillo Jr.) supporting actor (Alchris Galura); and Resiklo (Imus Productions) for production design (Rodell Cruz), musical score (Allan Feliciano & Arnold Buena) and sound (Ditoy Aguila & Junel Valencia).

Screened on Monday, Sept. 15, were A Love Story (Star Cinema) for picture, direction (Maryo J. de los Reyes), actor (Aga Muhlach), actress (Maricel Soriano), supporting actor (Dante Rivero), supporting actress (Angelica Panganiban), screenplay (Vanessa R. Valdez) and editing (Tara Illenberger); and Katas ng Saudi (Maverick Films) for sound (Addiss Tabong).

Screened on Tuesday, Sept. 16, were Sakal, Sakali, Saklolo (Star Cinema) for picture, direction (Jose Javier Reyes), actress (Judy Ann Santos), supporting actress (Gina Pareno), cinematography (Rodolfo Aves, Jr.), editing (Vito Cajili), musical score (Jesse Lucas) and sound (Albert Michael Idioma); and Paano Kita Iibigin? (Star Cinema/Viva Films) for actor (Piolo Pascual), actress (Regine Velasquez) and supporting actress (Eugene Domingo).

Screened on Wednesday, Sept. 17, were You Got Me (Star Cinema) for editing, (Marya Ignacio); and Bahay Kubo (Regal Entertainment, Inc.) for actress (Maricel Soriano), supporting actress (Eugene Domingo) and musical score (Von de Guzman).

Screened on Thursday, Sept. 18, were One More Chance (Star Cinema) for picture, actor (John Lloyd Cruz), actress (Bea Alonzo), screenplay (Carmi G. Raymundo & Vanessa Valdez) and cinematography (Manuel Teehankee); and Happy Hearts (Regal Entertainment, Inc.) for supporting actor (Wendell Ramos).

Screened on the last day, Friday, Sept. 19, were Enteng Kabisote 4 (OctoArts Entertainment/Mzet Productions) for production design (Mitoy Sta. Ana); and Ouija (Star Cinema) for editing (Marya Ignacio), musical score (Carmina Robles Cuya) and sound (Ditoy Aguila).

The votes will tallied by the accounting firm Cedilla, Villarey & Associates. Results of the voting will be announced during the 26th Luna Awards night, tentatively scheduled on October 11 or 18.

Your FEEDBACK can also be posted at